Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress

Sweet floral fit and flare mini with short sleeves, surplice neckline, back cutout, and keyhole closure. Stretchy elastic strip on back of waistband below cutout.
overall average rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Review 1 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Each color constructed differently?
9.13.2014
"It seems like the bust of this dress varies with the color, unfortunately.
For reference, I am 6'1", long and athletic, with a 38b/36c chest.
I tried a 10 in black in the store and it was soft, feminine, and the placement of the flowers with more towards the bottom is perfect. It is flirty and flattering! However, the cups sagged open and would need a stitch so I didn't buy.
Saw blue online and ordered it, figuring I could have it altered anyway. Well, it fit perfectly! No sag. The back opening is huge but I wore it over my bikini one day and a pretty lace bralette at night, and got lots of compliments. It's not a work dress, but great for dates, parties, sunny afternoons. The blue is darker than pictured but lovely and vibrant.
OH! I also ordered red, and had the same issue with the bust as black. It's going back, but I hope you fix this FP because I do love this dress and want more colors!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:36-40
body type:curvy
challenging to find a bra for
8.28.2014
"I agree with some reviewers who have larger chests and are unable to find a bra that fits without showing. I am a 36DDD and bought this in a size 12 in red ( probably needed a 10, but I shrunk it down to size in the wash/dryer!) but had to contend with the back not being bra friendly. I like the low front but having large breasts also means the back of the dress "hikes up" and constantly has to be readjusted. I was either pulling the dress down in back or up in front. Will likely relegate this to "around the house" or wear with a camisole which negates the open back. Also wrinkles easily and I refuse to iron. Lay flat after a quick dry and laundering. Still a cute dress and soft material. Red is bright scarlet."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Cute but not for the big chested
8.26.2014
"I ordered this dress in the cobalt color and as others mentioned, the color was different (a deeper blue) from that of the picture. Fortunately I really liked the color anyways. I also felt it fit well, however, it seems that you need just the right size chest for this dress. Too small and you're left with an awkward loose fit as read from others and I could imagine, owning the dress. However, I wear a 34DD bra and although I have a bra that has a deep v in front, I am constantly pulling the dress up and over because this dress ended up showing way too much cleavage. I was hoping I could wear this as a casual day dress but that look is next to impossible to pull off with a larger chest. I am keeping it because otherwise it fits well and I am hoping to find a bra that perhaps produces less cleavage, but I warn all of you with larger chests that this dress can be more trouble than its worth so only buy if you have the right bra for it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Napa
age:36-40
body type:slender
Love it, but not the perfect fit
7.21.2014
"I bought this in the red in a size 2 (5'8", 125 lbs. on the slender side, small bust) I love this dress it's darling, but a little hard to wear for those of us without a little more up top. I find the dress a bit too big in the bust area. I may have a seamstress sew the V. area a little closer together. I know it's supposed to show off some cleavage, but when I sit down, the dress awkwardly opens up. The 0 would have been too small for me. I agree with other reviewers that the arms are a bit snug and I'm afraid if i sized down to a 0, the dress would be too short as I'm all legs. I do love this dress though, so I'm going to attempt to work with it by having the V neck altered a bit."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Perfect
6.14.2014
"I tried this dress in black at the store and it is perfect for my body type, I am petite and busty. Beautiful, soft and simple."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cute but bad quality
6.1.2014
"I lov this dress. It is so adorable on and if you have a bigger bust then this is a good dress for you because it shows off your curves without making you look too big. Unfortunately, it is not made very well. Within the first two or three hours of wearing it, the button holding the dress up fell apart. I love free people and I have ton of their clothes but their clothes fall apart very easily."
Response from Free People:By Free People6.3.2014
Hi emmarl,

We're sorry to hear about your Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress! Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make things right.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute dress, awkward sizing
5.13.2014
"I really LOVED this dress online, so I went in to the store to try it on. I am usually a 2 but the size 2 and 0 both were too large. The looser fit was actually quite nice, however, there is a hole in the back and the hole was too large that you could see down the dress. I ordered the dress online when they offered the 00 size! Again, I am NOT a 00 but this dress runs large. The fit is perfect EXCEPT for the sleeves (they are awkwardly tight when I move/lift my arms). However, I love his dress so much because it is so cute that I will still wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:VT
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect Spring Dress
5.3.2014
"I am 5'4", 114 lbs and got a size XS in blue. It fits great, and is nice and easy to get into since there is a side-zipper and 2 buttons in the back. The material is of nice quality but it is, as mentioned in other reviews, definitely a darker yet still beautiful blue. I absolutely love it and am getting ready to wear it to NYC with a matching 3/4 sleeve cardigan and hi top sneakers."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Drum Core Hi Top
3.7 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:united states
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Not great for bigger chests
4.17.2014
"I ordered a size 6, and am a 32F, 5'6" and weigh about 135 lbs. I found that if i wanted to wear a bra with the dress, no matter the style of bra I tried, the neck of the dress was always too wide, and clearly showed the bra. The rest of the dress fit perfectly, but sizing up or down would not have fixed the bust issue. Since I'm not able to go braless in a dress like this, I know this will end up being relegated to many fewer wears"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Odd sizing
4.11.2014
"I am 5 7, 34B, 135 lbs and I sized down from a 6 to a 4 based on other reviews. The bust area fit well (not too big) but the rest of the dress was a touch too small. Sizing up might work if I sewed the front together to provide more coverage. But I am not willing to pay full price for an item that I'll have to alter. The pattern, fabric quality, and style is really nice - so the average rating is just due to the sizing issue. It's really too bad the bust size isn't consistent with the rest of the dress. It probably would work great for those blessed with a larger chest."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cute Mini
4.4.2014
"I love the flirty deep V neckline and the back cutout. The A-line fit is very flattering and skirts over the tummy if that's your "problem area." The material is thin and soft and very comfortable to wear. It fits true to size! I have this in black, but I also saw this in blue which is equally beautiful. But like another reviewer said, the blue is a shade darker than in the pictures. What I dislike is the vertical back gap from the keyhole closure. A couple of people have asked if I forgot to zip up the back until they saw that it was a button closure meant to be a keyhole opening.
I'm also not a fan of the short sleeves. They felt tight and restricting. A looser 3/4 sleeve would have been more preferable. Lastly, I'm very busty and the first couple of wears were great, but I'm starting to notice that the material is getting "stretched" somewhat and that I'm spilling out more and more with each wear...
Overall, this is a cute dress and I feel flirty when I wear it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:21-25
body type:slender
Dreaming of Summer
3.24.2014
"I saw this dress in store and fell in love with it instantly. I bought the dress in cobalt and like the color much more in person than as pictured online. As one reviewer already said, the blue and yellow combination is much darker in person. I did find the top of the dress to be a bit larger, but sizing down fixed this problem for me. I'm normally a size XS or 2 in Free People, but I ended up buying the size zero in this dress. I can't wait to wear it in warmer weather!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:St Louis
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Perfect
3.23.2014
"Awesome dress, very flattering."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:21-25
body type:slender
Obsessed
3.18.2014
"I am absolutely in love with this dress and cannot wait until it gets warmer to wear! I'm 5'8 and am usually a size 4 but sized down to a 2 and it fits me perfectly! The fabric is so soft and the color combination is bright and fun. The A-Line fit is so flattering on many body types so I'd recommend to anyone! The color is lighter in the product shots."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
THIS dress
3.16.2014
"Like the other reviews said, the color is a little off. HOWEVER, I took that into account when ordering & still love this dress. I'm 5'9" and 150 lbs and ordered a 6. It fits perfectly except for the top. It's like it was made for someone 2 cup sizes bigger than me! I'm wondering if sizing down to a 4 will help, or if I should just get it altered. Hoping I can find a solution because I'm not willing to give up on this dress just yet!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Runs very small!
3.13.2014
"Sadly I had to send this one back. I'm between sizes 10 & 12 and I ordered the 12 because I like my dresses to be roomy.
This thing would barely go up my thighs!!
Very pretty but not worth over $100 bucks
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Beautiful Spring Dress!
3.7.2014
"I am 5'3" - 112 lbs and the 0 fits great. The colors are beautiful. The material is thin and flowy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:State College PA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Beautiful Dress!
2.25.2014
"Very flattering. I am 5.2 so this dress is just the right length. I would think for someone on the taller side it may be too short to wear without leggings.
Love this! Can't wait for warmer weather :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
This Dress
2.24.2014
"Is a bit darker than pictured. It's a much richer, warmer blue and yellow than shown. But that being said I love this dress more than life itself. It sits perfectly in every aspect. I don't even need to wear a bra. It's just perfect! Other than the colour it looks just like pictured."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Ruby Tuesday Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Los angeles
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love this dress but not exactly as pictured
2.20.2014
"This dress immediately caught my eye because of it's bright blue and yellow colors. However, when i received this in the mail it's not exactly as it seems in the picture. i don't often say that about free people stuff, but in this case it's pretty different. The blue is darker, it's definitely a pure "cobalt" blue. So i suppose they're not misrepresenting it because it is called "cobalt", however, it's just not as bright and light as it is in the picture. Additionally, the yellow is more of a dark gold color. The dress in general is just not as bright and light as it is in this picture, but it's still beautiful!"
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large