Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Chinoise Dress

Floral printed mini dress with bell sleeves. Square neckline in front and back. Zips up the side of the waist. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Chinoise Dress
Review 1 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Huntington Beach CA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Cute but short
3.20.2014
" Extremely beautiful, but too short for my age "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Rich and Earthy
1.6.2014
" I had pretty high expectations from this dress and, after receiving it in the post today, I wasn't disappointed. I ordered the black and the colours are a lot warmer than the photos suggest. The hemming and floral detail are done in warm browns and earthy pinks; the effect is gorgeous.
The flared sleeves are more dramatic than I expected and I think I'll take them in. Then it will be perfect.
Thank you, Free People.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:215
age:21-25
body type:curvy
been such a long time- i forgot that i was fly
12.28.2013
" Love this. I feel amazing in this dress. Sleeves rock. Its a little short (5'5'' is my height) but not too short. Looks nice with a slip under. Good fit. Im a 6, got a small. Great color. Das Kleid ist sehr schon! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:United States
age:26-30
body type:slender
ended up keeping both colors..
11.20.2013
" I bought the red color at first expecting a burgundy, oxblood color. It was more to the cinnamon side than cranberry in person..if that helps to explain.
So I got the white as an early exchange.
I LOVED it. Blue on the bottom is not as vibrant as it seems on the photo. it's muted down turquoise.. It has a floral hippy girl vibe, not making you look like you're wearing a table cloth. looks great over a skinny jean, too.
I kept both colors, eventually. Red one doesn't have enough gothic redness feel I hoped for but it is a pretty good autumn foliage-ish color.
Plus, the fit is awesome.
The sleeves and the empire waist is just adorable and the square neckline is sexy.
I'm 5'4", 98lbs,32B and XS usually fits a little tee bit roomy. This dress in XS was no exception and the back of the dress where the elastics are loops a bit. But not a big deal.
Get this dress!
Its versatile- looks great with knee high boots and also works well as a tunic.
Cute date dress- girly, comfortable and looks casual and dressy at the same time. The sleeves make it a statement piece but not over the top dramatic. Just right!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Fremont, CA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
A very cute dress
11.20.2013
" Love the dress! It may not look good on the hanger from store, but it's cute on me. Got the black one! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
I LOVE THIS DRESS!!
11.14.2013
" For those of you who are questioning this dress, STOP! It is absolutely beautiful! I got the merlot color, and the picture makes it look a little bit brighter. It's a tad darker, but I really don't care it is still absolutely gorgeous. The color can be used really whenever, which is the best part about it. I'm 5'5, 110 pounds, 32C, with a short torso and very long legs. I got the XS, and I am so very happy I did because the small would have swallowed me. The XS is the perfect fit and it's not too short or not too long. It does run a little larger, so if you are used to getting a small (like myself) definitely try out the XS. Hope I could be of good help! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Marina del Rey
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful fall dress
11.9.2013
" I got the merlot color size small which is what I usually where. The fit is good. Some reviews say this is on the short side but since I'm 5'2 it's perfect! The color is gorgeous for fall/winter but I'm sure that I will wear it into spring too. Love the black color too! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:petite
Sweet sexy
10.25.2013
" Dress was backordered for a bit but well worth the wait. Anticipation made it's arrival soooo good! Super Sweet and sexy dress. I ordered xs & fits great. (I usually order xs at free people with good results in sizing.) I ordered the tea color and it is what I expected. Love. Dress is on the Mini side but that is the way I like. If looking for more length... can wear thick tights or leggings . The material is a little thicker than I might have thought but It makes it great for late summer and fall wear. Also will be wearing in the winter no doubt! Absolutely no disappointment here! :)
Just ordered the berry lace up bootie... it will be a perfect pairing with this sweet dress!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Beautiful bohemian dress
10.1.2013
" I bought the Merlot color because everyone I saw was wearing the cream colored one and I am so happy with my choice! It's very seasonally appropriate, but will wear well into Spring, too. It is lined, but on the short side, so I would almost recommend sizing up to get extra length. Mine shrunk in the wash but has not faded or worn out in any way. LOVE THIS! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute Japanese-style dress
9.25.2013
" This dress is much better quality in person than it looks online. It's super adorable, my only complaint is with sizing, it has a rather small bust area, I'm a 32C and I had to get a small for me to look decent in it. But I'm always an XS so every other part of the dress looked big, especially the bell sleeves. I do love this dress and it'd definitely look great on someone of the right body shape. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Ready for Fall in this Cute Baby-Doll!
8.28.2013
" I actually dreamed about this dress after I saw it in the store! Went back today and got it in the Merlot combo and I am SO happy! It's so cute, flirty and fun to wear! I got a small and it fits perfect in the fitted-top part. I'm a 34B and I think if I was any bigger I would've needed the Med. The sleeves are nice and long, but not too long, so it doesn't look sloppy. I'm very long torso'd (5'8) and it hits me exactly like the model. I can't wait to wear this! Going to pair it w/my black harness boots and vintage tall socks. Ready for fall in this cute baby-doll! Go for it! You will not regret. Lovely material, built in half slip, high quality dress. If I could figure out how to attach a picture I would! "
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, South NJ
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Very Pretty!
8.26.2013
" This dress is very pretty! The colors are not as vivid as in the catalog picture but are true to the online pictures. I’m 5’8”, 34 B/C, 120 lbs and XS fits perfect. The stretchy band in the back make this dress very comfortable, not constricting at all. It doesn't really need the straps in the back. I wore it to the Ukrainian independence day festival, as it similar to Ukrainian folk clothing and, I think, I fit in well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
Chinese&Japanese style dress
8.19.2013
" The second I saw this dress, I knew I had to have it. I'm 5'3'', 99lbs, 32B and I got an XS. I fell in love with this piece as soon as I put on it!! The bust is a little roomy so I consider adding a belt. The dress is gorgeous and I feel like a Chinese/Japanese princess ! The fabric is soft. It would be kinda hot to wear it now, though. Looking forward to wearing it in mid fall!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:athletic
July Standout
8.8.2013
" This baby doll dress was the standout of the July catalog, in my opinion. Unlike other reviewers, I found the colors to be true to the catalog shot and to be true to size as well. I am a medium and purchased a medium. It fit perfectly across the chest and in the arms. This dress is extremely flattering and a perfect transition piece into fall. This is my highest ranked Free People purchase as I felt I bought exactly what I was expecting from the information on the website. Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
LOVE!
8.2.2013
" As soon as I saw this dress I knew I HAD to have it. I bought the last Tea color in a Small one at my local FP store and I couldn't be happier. I am 6', long and lean with a 34C bust. It is a little tight in the bust and it is just short enough that I will need to wear shorts, which is what I normally need to do with FP baby doll dresses. I absolutely love the bell sleeves and they are long enough!! I highly recommend this dress if you love floral flowing pieces. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
AMAZING!
7.24.2013
" The second I saw this dress I knew I had to have it. It definitely does not disappoint. I am 5'5, 36D. I ordered the medium and it fits me perfectly. I know other girls were complaining about it being too tight in the front, but it seems to fit me perfectly. I had to adjust the tie that goes across the back, but once I made it made looser, it fit perfectly. The fabric is so soft and comfy. The bell sleeves are long, they come almost past my knuckles, but I love that. The dress isn't too sheer, so I don't have to worry about that. The length is perfect on me, not too short or too long. For reference, I am usually an 8 at FP and between a small on medium. I love this dress so much, I'm actually tempted to order it in the Merlot color as well. Also, I wore this out with the Jeffrey Campbell Johnny Tall Boots and got sooo many compliments on it! I highly recommend! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Sadness
7.24.2013
" The second I saw this dress I knew I had to have it. I am usually a size small in dresses and so I ordered my usual size and the chest area was just too short. It didn't give any waist whatsoever, it flew out in a very unflattering way. The top was just too small. The pattern is SOO beautiful but this dress is made for girls who have small breasts. I have a C cup and the small was much to much small. The dress fit perfectly in the arms and was a tad long length wise so ordering the medium would be too large. I had such high hopes and it just did not meet the mark. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:San Clemente, Ca
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love it!!
7.22.2013
" Adorable dress! Very comfortable and flattering. Depending on the cut of the dress, I am either a medium or large. I got this one in a large and it fits perfectly. I am a 38C and it is on the edge of being a little tight in the chest. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Adorable
7.18.2013
" I had a different experience than previous reviewers. I'm pretty full-busted 34C and found the M to still be roomy. Not loose enough to bother returning, but I probably could've gotten away with getting a small. The dress is really adorable and looks pretty much like the pictures to me--the pictures with the brunette model. It IS still see-through, so I'd wear shorts underneath. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Modern Chinoise Dress
Name:
Location:missoula
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
disappointed :(
7.18.2013
" i had very high hopes for this one.
the pictures make this dress look gorgeous..
but in person --not so much.
i ordered my usual medium (i'm 5'4" 36 D) & firstly, i don't think this dress is made for busty people.
my boobs barely fit into the top section & then it fanned out right below the chest in a very unflattering way making me look wider than normal.
i was also disappointed by the way the colors looked compared to the photos online.
the main picture for this makes the colors look vivid with much contrast between the floral design & the cream background; again - not the case.
there is a more yellow-ish tint which is more noticeable in the other pictures.
on the bright side, the fabric felt soft & good quality & the bell sleeves are adorable.
your body type will make or break this one.
i wouldn't recommend it to the short &/or very busty girls.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>