Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Rio Dress

Playful, printed mini with angular neckline, wide short sleeves, and pleating. Loose, effortless fit. *Dreamy fabrics, slubby textures, and ethereal sheer details come together to create New Romantics, a collection of pieces that are hand touched and hopelessly romantic.
overall average rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:Morrow
age:31-35
body type:petite
Gorgeous!
6.26.2014
"I adore this dress. So much that I bought both colors. I love everything about it: the style, the fabric, the fit, the embroidery, the pockets, the sleeves. It just has everything that I could possibly want in a dress. Perhaps the thing that I love most is the neckline. I love that it's a V-neck in front and a square-neck in the back. I'm so glad I was able to catch it on sale. My most favorite dress ever!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:NYC, New York
age:over 45
body type:petite
Love It!!!
5.26.2014
"I bought this dress and it truly runs large, but for me it was perfect. I bought a small and it fit perfectly. The length was awesome since I'm short and it hit a little above the need. i purchased the light color."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Not Worth It
5.4.2014
"Cheap material and stiff. Awkward neckline.
Partner said I looked 7 months pregnant it. Me: 5'6", 127 pounds. Should have looked great, but it just didn't.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:Copenhagen, Denmark
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful dress, but not for big breasts
5.3.2014
"This dress is my first purchase from Free People, and I just received it in the mail. The colors are almost as pictured; ordered it in black, the slightly pink stripes are more of an orange salmon, but otherwise it is precisely as expected.
After reading the other reviews, I sized down from large to medium, and while the skirt of the dress is extremely roomy and almost too big, there is just no space for my breasts to fit comfortably in there (my bra size is 38D).
The dress length is the same on me as on the pictures. I am 5'10.
I will keep the dress, both because it will cost me way too much to return it, and also because it appears to be possible to alter the front and make it larger, without completely destroying the dress.
So all in all, beautiful dress, excellent fabric, but I encourage others with big boobs to consider whether or not they are willing to get handy with a sewing kit before buying it.
P.S. Hope my english is understandable, it is not my native language.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Disappointed
4.9.2014
"I wanted this dress from the moment I saw it in the catalog but the price was holding me back. I decided to give it a try...received it yesterday and was so disappointed. It runs really big, I am usually a size 6/medium but sized down to a small per the other reviewers. It was still big, no real shape to it. The thing I was most disappointed in was the colors, not vibrant and it certainly doesn't look like a $268 dress. I'll be returning...hoping to find something fabulous soon!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:36-40
body type:petite
For tall gals only
3.31.2014
"I had the same problem as Jessica C. This is a STUNNING dress but it is not for the euphemistically termed "petite woman." I am 5'2" and 105 lbs and, in this thing, I looked like I'd been abandoned in the Amazonian rainforest and taken in by aborigines who subsequently clothed me in the vestments of their long-dead. In other words, this only works if you have reasonably long legs (so that the hem can hit mid-thigh as pictured, as opposed to mid-knee on the Amazonian adoptee). I might add that it also helps to have reasonably broad shoulders (which I do, for my frame, and it *still* gave me a rather unflattering "wingspan"), otherwise the sleeves will "jut out" too much, as opposed to the ineffably cool and casual way they "just hang" in the picture. If you have the right body type, GO FOR IT HON, it's stunning, the fabric is delicious, you will wear it to death all spring and summer long and you will pass it on to your grandchildren. But if you are even remotely from my neck of the body-type woods...no sale. Too bad too, as I really wanted to keep this. But now I have the perfect excuse to buy the exorbitantly-priced "Tie That Binds" blouse."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute but not for skinny people
3.27.2014
"You can tell from the pics that this dress runs big but I thought I'd take my chances and buy it anyway hoping I'd be able to pull it off, well, that didn't happen. Unfortunately this piece isn't meant for you if you're my size, XS. I'm 105 pounds and this made me look like I'm wearing a tent, I'd suggest sizing down as much as 2 sizes and even then it might still be loose. It's a shame really, I like the design and I think it's a well made dress, just don't understand why FP makes many dresses run so huge."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Rio Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
keeper
3.23.2014
"I purchased the black in xs (5'6" and 130lbs). Sized down from my normal s to xs and the fit is perfect. Love the colors and easy swing style of the dress. Looks good with boots and tights as well as summer sandals."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large