Product Reviews

Tape Yarn Beach Sweater

Slub-knit crochet layering sweater with wide scoop neck. *64% Cotton, 32% Nylon, 4% Polyester *Dry clean for best results *Import Measurements for Size XS/S: Length: 21" Chest: 56"
overall average rating:
3.477 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Review 1 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:St. Louis
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
cute... but HUGE
10.2.2012
" This sweater is really cute and hangs really nicely but it's SO big. I got the M/L and I normally wear a medium but if I stand still it literally falls off of me; the neck is so big that it just slides down my arms. It's so pretty though that I wear it anyway. Also I can't really roll up the sleeves because they are so big. I'm also a little concerned about the quality--it came with a couple of loose stitches and I'm afraid it will just fall apart. Definitely hand washing this one. Great for the sale price ($30), but I would never pay $108 for this. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 2 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
nice layering piece
9.11.2012
" Just as shown, described - very loose & unstructured, not a lot of shape till you put it on and push up the sleeves, but I expected that. It's a cool beachy over-sweater. Not sure how I'll go about washing it yet though, because it's quite a loose knit and i think it'll get pulled in all directions... Maybe a lingerie bag all by itself. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:athletic
It's ok
8.24.2012
" I really like the way the sweater fits, and how comfortable it is. My only issue is because of it's quality, im scared to wash it. I recieved it with a couple undon loops and just shrugged it off by tying the strands and knotting them. But there seems to be more developing and I'm scared that if I wash it, it will unravel a large hole. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 4 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Ottawa, ON
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
TERRIBLE
7.31.2012
" I am from Canada and I ordered the M/L and it was so ridiculously large i couldn't even wear it. I am 5 foot 8 and when held across my chest the armpits of the item was at my elbows. "
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb7.31.2012
So sorry to hear that! A member of our service team will be in touch to assist you in making a return.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 5 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:AZ
age:14-20
body type:curvy
so cute but.....
7.24.2012
" I loved this online and on the model but ahhhh, so disappointed. i ordered the cream one, and it seriously looks like an off lavender. like it was washed in the wrong colors. i love the idea of it though, its huge, also. the arms go super long. I dont regret buying it but its super different than what i expected "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 6 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Even Better in Person
7.19.2012
" I originally wanted the sweater in white, but they only had an XS in the blue so i ordered it anyway. I'm SO glad i did! It looks even better in person! I thought it would look too plain, but it hangs beautifully on me - you get that "understated sexy" look. It a little shorter than I expected but I like it better that way, keeps it from being too baggy and frumpy. For the sale price its amazing! My new favorite sweater. I'm going to keep an eye out for the white! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 7 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Love/Hate Situation
7.6.2012
" Where to begin. Well, I ordered this when there was a free shipping promo going on and plus it was on sale. I had been waiting for this thing to go on sale FOREVER and I figured the price wouldn't get any better than it was at the time. Obviously it did. It's ok...I only paid a couple dollars more. ANWAY....when I received the sweater the FIRST time, I was 90% satisfied. However, there was somewhat of a gap in the crochet pattern that was bigger than the rest. If it wasn't for the amount of money I put into the sweater, I wouldn't have cared....but seeing as how I did pay a little more, I wanted to be 100% satisfied with the look. So, I called customer service and the girl I talked to was great. She said that she would make sure that they would look over the next sweater and make sure there was absolutely nothing wrong it. She had FP ship out a replacement right away. Easy Peezy. THEN just a couple days later, my new sweater arrives. One of the arms looked as if it had been purposely violated with a crochet hook or something. The strings were severly pulled. However, after taking a few deep breaths and letting the panic subside, I pulled the material back into place. I pretty much got it to look the way I had hoped it would....it was just the fact that I had been promised extra care, and I did not receive it. I shouldn't have had to fix it myself, but I did. I hope that after a few test wears I won't have to send it back. Despite it being a little shorter than I had expected, I love the sweater. It's very slouchy and just so perfect for my boho preferences. Although this order was a little sketchy, I think it could have been worse. I'll always love FP clothes. xoxo "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:philadelphia, pa
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
beyond disappointed
5.11.2012
" i bought this sweater a few weeks ago and was in LOVE with it. wore it over a sun dress. A week later, I grabbed it to throw on over my tank, as it was a little bit chilly, but still nice out. About an hour after i put it on the whole sleeve fell off. I got about 8 hours worth of wear out of it before it fell to pieces. I am so disappointed that I spent so much on a sweater for it to not last at all. I wish I could return it, but once i wore it i threw out the receipt. I would love to be able to exchange it but I highly dount that is likely "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb5.15.2012
Hi, it sounds like this may have had defective stitching. We're reaching out to customer service who should be able to help! Thanks for letting us know!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Singapore
age:21-25
body type:petite
love it!
3.9.2012
" i got this in XS and it's really slouchy and oversized but that's totally what i was looking for so i'm really happy with it. when i first took it out of it's packaging, it looked much shorter than i expected. but after putting it on, it's perfect! the material used is rather stretchy and its own weight pulls it downwards so it kind of drapes and hangs off your body. it's soft and comfy and i love it! best sweater ever. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Palmdale, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Poor Quality
3.2.2012
" I purchased this sweater after deciding to treat myself. I didn't mind paying so much for a sweater I loved and would wear for a long time. I have never washed this sweater and it is totally falling apart on me. I have to keep tying knots to try to keep it together and it has gotten so bad I'm going to have to take it to someone to repair. I will never pay so much for something from a company that doesn't stand behind their clothing. A thirty day return policy isn't adequate for $100.00 garments. I feel cheated. I expected a high quality garment for this price. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Huge
2.17.2012
" Its falling of sholders. My size is small, I bought XS/S - huge "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
this sweater is amazing
12.25.2011
" I just got this sweater for christmas and it is SO CUTE. It runs big, yes, but it's the perfect slouchy sort of sweater for winter weather in places like California. It's great for wearing with leggings or really actually just about anything. I bought it in optic white, and I am absolutely in love. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:TEXAS COUNTRY GAL
age:over 45
body type:petite
EVERYDAY EVERYWAY
12.17.2011
" I AM ASHAMED TO SAY, I HAVE HARDLY TAKEN OFF THIS WONDERFUL BLACK SWEATER. I WEAR A LOT OF WHITE, BLACK, AND GREY AND IT GOES WITH IT ALL. SOOOOO COMFORTABLE AND THE WEIGHT IS PERFECT FOR LAYERING HERE IN TEXAS. I ALWAYS AND I MEAN ALWAYS GET COMPLIMENTS ON HOW IT LOOKS!! BE PREPARED FOR IT TO HANG AND DRAPE BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT IT IS SUPPOSE TO
DO. ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:San diego
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Too delicate
11.1.2011
" I got this sweater a while ago but unfortunately returned it. The problem with this sweater is it snags so easily and is way too delicate for me. It is a really pretty sweater and I was upset about returning but I was almost certain knowing me something would happen to it and I didnt want to pay $100 for something Id only wear a couple times. I got the green color and it was so much prettier in person than online! I really liked the fit although I sized down to the xs it was HUGE but looked very pretty on. So it is kind of a risk maybe if it one day goes on sale I'll buy it again? "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Oakville, ON
age:26-30
body type:petite
HUGE
10.12.2011
" I'm an XS and bought this in the XS/S thinking it would be a nice drapey sweater but it was MASSIVE. It kept falling off my shoulders. Enough said. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Obsessed
9.22.2011
" I bought this sweater in the store in the olive color and I absolutely love it. I wish I could wear it every day. It is very much on the big side, and stretches out as you wear it, but that is how it is supposed to be. This does not take away from this fantastic sweater. It is great to layer over dresses or wear with pants. It's great for when you just need a light sweater to wear around. I would probably buy this in every color if I had the funds. Love. Buy it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:San Franciso
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Fun and hot!
9.6.2011
" I bought this in Optic White and have worn it many times already. I layer it over tank tops, maxi dresses, and slips. I'm not sure why there are bad reviews about this sweater, it is over sized and perfect for layering over just about anything! Not only do I love it, but men seem to like this too! :) I like it so much that I just purchased the black version and can't wait to get it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:41-45
body type:curvy
So Unique
8.21.2011
" This sweater is like no other sweater I have seen anywhere. It does fit like on the model and is very versatile. I have the optic white and am now getting the black. I think I will have these for years. Looks great over tanks for late Summer but will look just as good over long sleeves for Fall. I usually roll and pin the sleeves but if you don't do that, they will just hang straight. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Isle of Palms, SC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Fits just how it looks on the model
8.17.2011
" Will be a favorite for fall this year! I got the olive color and it's gorgeous. Will go great with short shorts and skinny jeans. Fun to add a hat or a bunch of chunky jewelry to as well. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Tape Yarn Beach Sweater
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Greats piece, very large
7.31.2011
" Regardless of the fact that that I (5'2", 99lb petite frame) swim in this xs sweater, I still absolutely love it. There are definitely a variety of ways to wear it, and I rather like the looseness of it as it hangs off your shoulder. I probably would have preferred it to be just a tad more fitting for the price, but it's one of few knit sweaters out there that has such a great loose knit/drape. I would definitely recommend it still. :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>