Product Reviews

Contra Washed Tall Boot

Tall, hand-distressed leather boot with secret pocket on inside of shaft. Buckle strap detail on outside of ankle. Leather sole. Distressed pattern will vary slightly from pair to pair. This boot is made in the exact same way it was made over a hundred years ago, at the same factory. Every single aspect of this boot is handmade from start to finish, one pair at a time. This boot in particular was tumbled in a huge drum with tons of rocks and stone to get that perfect distressed look we all crave for. *Freebird by Steven *Leather Upper *Goodyear Hand-welted Sole *Handmade in Mexico *Hidden Inside Pocket *1 1/2" heel height, 16" boot height, 16 1/2" opening circumference **A Goodyear welted sole is a near-indestructible sole comprised of multiple layers of leather, stacked together and glued, then fastened through the sole with small cylindrical pegs of wood individually hammered in. It's a very laborious and time consuming process but creates a sole that can be reworked years later and able to last a lifetime.
overall average rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Review 1 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Fullerton
age:21-25
body type:petite
D: so disappointing.
7.29.2013
" I was so excited to order these boots, but when I finally received them, they look nothing like the picture! I ordered the grey ones, but it almost looks like a light brown with barely any distressed gay. But I was totally going to look past the color, because i still though they were cute.... but they were SO hard to put my foot in. I actually didn't even get to try them on because I frankly couldn't get in it! Im so sad! They're really cute, despite the color issue, but not well designed. ]: "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:athletic
not impressed
7.13.2013
" Ordered the grey boots, so disappointed!! They are like a dusty blue-grey, totally not what was pictured at all in my opinion. The one boot is so tight over the top of the foot by the buckle I can hardly squeeze my foot in, and once on they are a little loose feeling. Love the look of them in pictures, but really disheartened with the purchase overall for the price of them. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Moscow
age:41-45
body type:petite
Contra Washed Tall Boots
6.23.2013
" Love them, it`s better suited for the autumn, in summer it's hot, today it was 24, and I rubbed my ankle a little bit under the bone, but it's not a problem. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Udine - Italy
age:36-40
body type:athletic
WOW!!!
6.1.2013
" I just recived these boots EXTRAORDINARY!
It's hard to find boots so beautiful, with skin so good ... and let me tell you:
this is not a bad smell!
This is the smell of real leather!
I bought a lot of shoes on the web, but often have a pungent smell of glue ... I hate that!
In this case, however, I opened the box, I felt this scent that reminds me of the first time I went into a saddle store for horseback riding!
What a thrill!
Thank you, I'll still be your customer!
A strong hug, "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Bummed :( Great FP service, but not going to work.
5.20.2013
" I read the other reviews, and decided to take a chance. I wanted to include my review in case anyone else is on the fence about ordering - hope this helps! :)
The Good:
-Fit true to size. I ordered my usual, and they were neither too big nor too small.
- Adjustable calf is nice, great for narrow feet and calves.
-FP provided prompt shipping!
The Not So Good:
-Really had to wiggle my foot in there, had to go with a thinner sock to do so. I have really narrow feet, so pls take that into consideration when you order.
-The black don't look as pictured (not the distressing part, the overall color) -- it's not chocolatey brown, it's definitely REALLY distressed dusty brown. Really distressed, not just a broken in look.
-Thin leather has me worried about the longevity, even at the sale price.
-Fairly heavy boots - might take that into account if you have trouble with that type of thing.
-Smell - wow - not just a leather smell, something else.
Sadly, I believe I must return them. Wish they had been as pictured and would have worked out. :) If you are looking for really distressed, narrow boots and don't mind an odor that would probably go away, you will be ok. If not, maybe try them on first if possible to see them in person. Good luck!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Vestal, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
not as pictured
4.19.2013
" Like some of the other reviewers, I found these boots to be very different in person. I got the "contra" color, and they are much lighter, and less distressed than shown. The leather itself is fairly thin. I was disappointed. I have other Freebird by Steven boots that were made quite well, so I expected these to be higher quality. I'd say don't spend the money on these, even at the sale price--you'd do much better with a nice pair of Fryes. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.19.2013
Each boot will vary in levels of distressing because of the way these are handled during production. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
ADVICE If You Can't Slip Them On
4.5.2013
" These boots are AWESOME. I have been stalking them since the fall. I really loved the black, but so many negative reviews about fit and color kept me from going for it. I decided to give them a chance in a size 10 black. Mine were some-what similar to the ones pictured, but quite a bit lighter from top to sole. I fought these boots to get them on my feet. I stuck my feet in plastic bags (newspaper bags work great!), slid them into the boots, and finally I was able to get them on. Once on, these looked fantastic and felt great on my feet. I found the leather to be sturdy and not too thin at all. I love them despite the definite color discrepancy. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:36-40
body type:slender
Contra Washed Tall Boot
2.20.2013
" First lets just say, these boots looking nothing in person like they do in the picture! Free People knows this and they have done nothing to change that. So basically they are selling you something with a deceiving picture.
Boots have no zipper so good luck trying to get them on, the leather is so stiff and poor quality, I have yet to get mine on and therefore have to return them.
Very disappointed, I wanted the boots in the picture like I ordered, if they were going to try to pawn off the boots that don't match the picture we should have got them at a discount then. Love the boots in the picture and so bummed that is not what I received. This was my first purchase at Free People and not a good experience. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.25.2013
We're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your boots -- our Contra boots will vary from pair to pair because they are hand made from start to finish. The distressing and color will be slightly different because of the tumbling process that each pair goes through. A member of our service team will be in touch to provide assistance! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
black is a dusty brown, not chocolate brown
12.18.2012
" Not too impressed by these, found the color dull and the distressing not as genuine as on the studio shots..Also the quality of the leather is not that wonderful...i had hoped that 'the studio shot boots' were the boots i would receive...but based on the reviews i knew there was more than a 80% chance that the boots were not true to the images. So i gambled with poor odds and lost - on the plus side, they are supersoft, scrunch easily and also true to size. Slender foot. I would have needed 6 1/2 for a great fit so that in combo with the dullness of the color and the mechanical looking distressing make these a no keep. I'm ordering a few more styles and continue my quest for the perfect tall biker boot. FP please adjust the studio shots accordingly... "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Detroit Michigan
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Not 100%
12.15.2012
" I received these high priced boots on December 6th 2012 & when I opened up the box I thought that they had mailed me the wrong boot color, But after reading the box about 20ty times before It sunk in my brain that this is what their color black looks like, because it's not the same color of the picture to the left. After seeing that I still liked the look of the boot. I was pretty excited that the boot had the slouchy look the sag look just like in the picture. I honestly disliked the material of the boot. It is like super thin & in the winter I hope if you purchase this boot you should also purchase some extra socks to wear with them. The material I think isn't worth the $485 that they are asking for for this boot. Looking @ the website pic you'd think the leather was thick but it's not. If you pair them with skinny jeans the look is amazing. I like these boots & if you can get over the fact that the color isn't the same as the website picture & the material of the boot isn't really worth the asking price. Then I'd say go for it pay that $485 & add these amazing boots to your collection. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Hwaii
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Best boots ever
12.8.2012
" I was reluctant to order these, I have had bad luck with boots from Free people. After much deliberation, finally ordered them and am so pleased with these boots. My favorites already!!!! Not quite as brown and rich as in the pics, but that is true of most items pictured on this site, they can make things look extra rich and great in the pics to where you want to buy everything you see..... :0) These boots are worth it and run true to size. And very comfortable. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Boston
age:31-35
body type:petite
Good and Bad
11.30.2012
" Had these boots came exactly like their picture, I would have LOVED them. The picture makes them look authentically vintage and destroyed. In person, they are not authentic looking - they look a little factory-made with patterned distressed marks.They also don't gather down like the picture, they stay pretty much straight up your leg, which I actually like. The brown is not as rich in person as in the picture. Having said all of that, I do wear them a ton, they are cool boots and fit true to size (with thin socks or tights). Just don't count on the authentic look that the picture promotes. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New Haven , CT
age:26-30
body type:curvy
love
10.23.2012
" These boots are amazing. But contrary to a few of the reviews i read (im not sure if the product was changed due to previous reviews) I found my boots to actually be the color of the picture. More brown than black, i was actually hoping for black and was happy all the reviews said they were. Not mine. They were just like the ones in the pic. A lot of the reviews also said they werent distressed very much. Mine were overly distressed, even moreso than the picture. I was a little dissapointed with the leather, for the price i expected a bit better quality. These have a very intersting texture, they almost dont even feel leather! However when it comes to my calf, beggers cannot be choosers and if you have a large calf (mine are 16") These are truly a 16.5" circumference and I was overjoyed they fit with leggings, im hoping with a bit of stretching jeans too! The smell is a bit overpowering at first, im sure it wil decrease with wear. Overall a great boot, but I have cut myself off from boot shopping this year after spending this much! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:austin
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Stellar, solid boot.
10.11.2012
" These boots are rad. Perfectly worn in and incredibly sturdy without feeling incredibly heavy. The color of the boot is not accurately represented in the photo; instead of a warm chocolate as the lighting in the photo depicts, these are more of an ashy, dusted up black (see photo attached to review). If you can wrap your head around the fact that you're not buying a brown boot but a black one, you shouldn't be too let down when these boots hit your doorstep. Note: I'm sure that these will slack with wear, and that I could style them with the shaft scrunched, but the boot shaft doesn't lay as slacked as in the photos (which is my personal preference). "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:26-30
body type:petite
So Disappointed!
9.17.2012
" I have been waiting for these boots and was so excited to get them in the mail today. But very disappointed when I opened the box. First of all, the pair I got had 3 horizontal scruffs on each boot and that was all the distressing! I know it says each boot varies.. but it is nothing like the pictures. Even the other reviewer with the picture is different but at least the distressing was ok. And the shape of the shoes is drastically different too. Anyway, It was horrible that I did'nt even tried it on and sent it back right away. Definitely not worth the money and wont wear it (at least the pair I got) even if it is free. Great prototype but poor execution. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Boulder
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Amazing Boots, Color is not exactly as shown
9.14.2012
" I was obsessed with these boots, I am still am. They are amazing, they fit true to size. But the color is different than shown in the photo. I know it says the color will be slightly different, when I opened the box, I thought they sent me the wrong color. I am sending mine back and keeping my fingers crossed the next color is closer to the one shown. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Contra Washed Tall Boot
Name:
Location:long island
age:over 45
body type:curvy
my favorite
9.7.2012
" best boot ever..although looks slightly different then the pic.. "
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large